Saving Your Basil


My basil has gone a little wild this year!

I have lots of it.

I have made pesto and freezing it for use this winter.  But sometimes you just want the basil, not the pesto.  I have figured out a way to just have the basil.

First, you wash the basil after it comes in from the garden. Then, you take all the basil leaves off the stems.  Put them in your handy-dandy little blender with a bit of water, until they are blended up.

Your mixture should be thick. Then, you spoon out the basil into ice-cube trays and freeze.  After they are frozen, pop them out of the ice-cube trays and put them in a zip lock bag to store in your freezer. 

 

You can use these for lots of different recipes that call for basil.

This winter when the fresh basil is hard to come by, you will have some on hand!

 

More later……………………….Sally

 

 

2 responses

  1. Brilliant idea – wish I had read this about an hour and a half ago before I cut back my basil…maybe I could rescue it out of the garden sack!

  2. I hope you have enough for me to steal some:-)

Leave a Reply

